Cafe Lidia

When I got married and moved to our new house, I told myself, “I’ll be leaving my heart in Marikina – my hometown. I wasn’t born here but this is where I grew up. Living in Marikina for 20yrs of my life made it hard for me to move out. 😦 Though I still visit once in a while since my parents are still there, its different when I van only visit once every 2 weeks unlike before that everyday of my life. Haha! 🙂

I have been eyeing for Cafe Lidia eversince. I have read a lot of good reviews about the place and I wanted to try it myself. After almost 2 months of just wanting to go there, I finally woke up one morning and decided to go there. I called my friend and food buddy and she readily said yes. 😛 It was already lunch time when we arrived at the place. 

When I saw the signage along the street, its not actually impressive. I said, “oh no..” I thought, it’ll be just another so-so place. But I was wrong. The place is really awesome inside. It was surrounded by warm yellow lights, shiny black floor and we were actually welcome by  the owner’s Sto.Niño. It was also surprising that the place was full of customers – in a weekday  – with scorching hot weather and there were a lot of waiters and waitresses which was really cool. 

We got ourselves a table and started browsing through their menu. Their menu is the typical menu that you would recognized that its already old because of its color. The food listed were overwhelming. They all seem to be really really good. Sure, the owner knows how to put the perfect description of each and every food in their menu. 

          

          

After barely 15mins of waiting, 3 different waiters started to bring in our food. Here’s what we got: 

Those cream dory were seasoned and cooked well. Not over cooked. And even we were focused on our pasta and busy with our story-telling sessions, the crispy coating remains crispy. 

I am not sure what’s bechamel sauce. But it looks like just an ordinary tomato sauce but it has a distinct taste which makes this lasagna, unique. 

The pizza papa have its counterpart – the Pizza Lidia which is all veggies. Total opposite of pizza papa. Pizza papa is simple. Not something to rave about. 

The chicken pesto pasta was also good. That basil pesto cream sauce taste just right. And it was really nice that Cafe Lidia is generous with their sauce. 🙂

Pasta ala Lidia is their special of the house. I fell in love with it. I love anchovies and capers in a pasta and this one got the right combination of saltiness and spiciness. Those capers wwere really wonderful. I thought they were fresh (I wish!) but the waiter said they’re just using those that can be bought in typical grocery stores around. Hmmm… canned capers! I didn’t care. Haha! 😀

Sorry about the blurry photo here. This marshmallow cake is heaven from top to bottom, left and right. 

Chocolate paradise is also good. It has a distinct taste and crunchiness. 

Burp! These were ALL good – really really good! 😀 Me and my friend were really amazed. We ate all out food and for the first time, we didn’t have any take outs. Haha! 😀

Summary of expenses:

Pasta ala Lidia – Php 145.00
Fish & Chips – Php 170.00
Chicken Pesto Pasta – Php 190.00
Pizza Papa – Php 220.00
Baked Lasagna – Php 150.00
Bottled Water – Php 25.00
Bottomless Iced Tea – Php 65.00
Marshmallow Cake – Php 73.00
Chocolate Paradise – Php 85.00

12% VAT

TOTAL: Php 1,1223.00

My own ratings:

Service : 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 out of 5 smiles
Place : 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 out of 5 smiles
Price : 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 out of 5 smiles
Taste : 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 out of 5 smiles

We are now planning our next visit to Cafe Lidia. Haha! 😀

Cafe Lidia
64 Calderon St., Calumpang Marikina City, Metro Manila Philippines
(02) 647-7606
Facebook : Here

18 Comments

  1. It seemed like you had a lot on your plate! You had every delicious meal ordered, that it made me feel even hungrier (note: haven’t eaten breakfast as of writing!). Should I be in the marikina area, I’d probably try and visit Cafe Lidia. =)

    Like

  2. i like the ambiance.. so much classic esp the lights… hahahah
    ang layo naman ng place na to marikina… sana mapuntahan at magawan ng review soon,,
    btw i like the chicken… hahah at yung chocolate Paradise nagutom ako…. cake people pa naman ako..

    Like

  3. If its not too far from me I really would like to try their pasta dishes, looks so delectable. The cakes selection are so tempting as well.

    Like

  4. burp!
    I’m fully loaded already… just looking at those dishes.
    How much more if I come to taste every food …. Where’s the restroom?

    Like

Let me know what you think about this post

