Revisiting Kulinarya Festival Lunch Buffet at Bayview Park Hotel

Once again, I was in Bayview Park Hotel in Manila with my friends to celebrate this years Kulinarya Festival. If you read my previous post, it was an awesome experience. The lunch buffet was so worth it, really affordable and you will never go wrong with those traditional Filipino fiesta dishes. 

Bayview Park Hotel is true to its mandate: “Your Home By The Bay“. Nothing beats the comfort and hospitality that it provides to their guests.

When I arrived at the hotel, it was already lunch time and the food is waiting for me. 🙂 I can sense that the tables will be very busy because almost all of them were reserved already. Whoah! More and more guests will be raving about the awesome Filipino dishes served by Bayview Park Hotel. True enough, I just realized that all tables were already busy because I can hear lots of laughters and story-telling sessions by the guests. 🙂

This time, I started with their desserts. Not sure why, but I just felt of having desserts first. The leche flan and halo-halo really caught my eyes. Cherry on top of the leche flan and a generous sweet beans and evaporated milk on my halo-halo. How’s that for a start, huh? 😛

Leche Flan is a Filipino Custard is a very popular dessert in the Philippines. It’s very similar to creme bruleè. The dessert is traditionally cooked sans cream but adding it makes it a creamy, melt-in-your-mouth, heavenly custard.

Halo-Halo is a popular Filipino dessert that is a mixture of shaved ice and evaporated milk to which are added various boiled sweet beans and fruits, and served in a tall glass or bowl.

Ingredients include boiled kidney beans, garbanzos, sugar palm fruit (kaong), coconut sport (macapuno), and plantains caramelized in sugar, jackfruit (langkâ), gulaman, tapioca, nata de coco, sweet potato (kamote), pounded crushed young rice (pinipig). In terms of arrangement, most of the ingredients (fruits, beans, and other sweets) are first placed inside the tall glass, followed by the shaved ice. This is then sprinkled with sugar, and topped with either (or a combination of) leche flan, purple yam (ubeng pula), or ice cream. Evaporated milk is poured into the mixture upon serving.

When my taste buds were already contented, I headed to get a new plate and filled it those dishes that has been waiting for me. The Filipino fiesta setup really added to my excitement. It’s so nice to see those food in native “palayok” and even the serving spoons are all made of wood. I remember when I was a kid with my lola watching her prepare our favorite vegetable dish. 🙂

Here’s what I got:

Pansit Bihon Guisado is a Filipino noodle dish and is a staple second to rice.  This was brought by the chinese and was localized since then. This dish uses “Bihon” or rice sticks mixed with either seafood, pork, chicken, and vegetebles.

Pancit Bihon Guisado (Stir-fried Bihon Noodles w/ Mixed Seafood & Vegetables)

Tortang talong is eggplant omelet. Meatless tortang talong can be served as a side dish or even as a main dish. To make tortang talong, the eggplants must be pre-cooked. They can be steamed, broiled, grilled or boiled in a little water. The batter, usually a plain mixture of flour and water, can be made even better by substituting seasoned bread crumbs for the flour or by using flour but adding spices and herbs. In the photo above, I used the plain egg-and-flour mixture with a dash of salt and pepper. Hence, how to season your tortang talong depends on how you intend to serve them.

Tortang Talong (Eggplant Omelette)

Kalderetang Baka (Beef Caldereta) is one of the top Filipino recipes cooked during Fiesta and birthdays. A classic Filipino dish. It can be cooked with beef, pork or chicken. This is one of those Filipino dishes that become more flavorful as you keep reheating it. I remember when I was growing up, my dad used to purposely cook more of this delicious dish so he can have leftovers and he would keep reheating it until the meat would fall apart.  He would then use bread to mop the sauce with it.  Let me tell you, my dad ate very well. Haha! 🙂

Kalderetang Baka (Beef Caldereta)

Ginataang Tanigue (Spanish Mackerel in Coconut Milk) Coconut milk is used in various Filipino dishes. We oftentimes cook ginataan in meat, chicken and fish. One fish that I think best cooked in coconut milk is tanigue.

Ginataang Tanigue (Spanish Mackerel in Coconut Milk)

Chicken Sotanghon – Chicken and shiitake mushrooms simmer in chicken broth with bean thread noodles in this Filipino noodle soup.

Chicken Sotanghon

It’s really fun to be a Filipino. I love all the food that were in the buffet table. I can’t remember how many plates I used. Haha! 🙂

While having a good conversation with my friends, I finish my lunch with green salad. Very refreshing! 🙂

Berdeng Gulay na may Kamatis, Sili at Pipino (Mixed Green Salad)

From the very time I was in Bayview Park Hotel, I already invited some of my other friends to try their buffet lunch too and experience being home away from their home. It was truly an awesome bonding moments with my friends and I am sure it’ll also be with families.

For only Php450, this is super worth it. From Monday to Friday every 11am-2pm and will continue until July 31, 2012.

Bayview Park Hotel

Address: 1118 Roxas Blvd., cor United Nations Ave., Manila
Telephone: 02 247 9000 and 02 526 1555
Email: bookings@bayviewparkhotel.com
Website: www.bookings@bayviewparkhotel.com

 

2 Comments

Let me know what you think about this post

