Yuujin Japanese Cuisine – Beyond Plates And Good Food

First of all, I have never been to Japan, so I have no idea what really good Japanese cuisine is supposed to taste like. As long as I like what’s on the table and my palates wanting for more, I’m perfectly okay with that. I have an aversion to the idea of eating something like raw fish and all. However, as I grow older, I must say that I am learning and starting to like ’em. I still by the way don’t know how to use chopstick. Tsk! I love Asian food, that’s the most important, I think.

When I was invited to try out another Japanese restaurant, I got excited. As time passed by,  I get to be more adventurous in the food I eat and I am happy with that. Yuujin Japanese Restaurant is located in Wilson St., in San Juan Manila. It was dinner time and it is still clear to me how the darkness of the skies complimented the yellow lights all over the restaurant which makes it really cozy and intimate. A place in where you wanna be if you want a good conversation with your date — well.. something like that. 🙂

When we arrived, the place was not busy and we were warmly welcomed by the owners of the restaurant then seated immediately. Yuujin Japanese Restaurant is located in a nondescript street of Wilson in San Juan Manila — never a place I would look for exceptionally good food. But I was wrong. The place has relatively enough space for around 50-60 customers all at the same time. Clean and simple. White plate arrangements on the tables, yellow and brown partnership between their chairs and tables.

Several noteworthy wall decorations that cannot be ignored because it is showcasing the restaurants recognitions from different local newspapers along with a very beautiful Japanese-inspired cloth decors.

When I was handed their menu, I remember that aversion feeling again. However, those photos of their dishes looks really mouth-watering. Super! Good thing was everything has their brief description that customers can read before ordering them. 🙂 And as I was reading them, I just want ’em all. I mean, this is the time I get to wear my adventure cap in indulging to these super deliciously looking dishes. They got reasonably fair prices for their dishes and they got big servings per plate.

While waiting for our food, we were able to see Yuujin’s chef preparing sushis and sashimis. Truly  amazing view.

Shortly after around 15mins, plates are already lining up on our table. 🙂

Salmon Skins started to come in and amazed us how a simple dish like could taste really really good. A very unique appetizer for me.

Salmon Skins || Php 195.00
Rating: 5 out of 5
Creamy Spicy Tuna Sashimi || Php 260.00
Rating: 4 out of 5
Creamy Spicy Salmon Sashimi || Php 280.00
Rating: 5 out of 5

I honestly loved the salmon sashimi. With the right amount of spiciness and sauce, it was just perfect. And i didn’t mind eating raw fish, at all! The salmon just melts in my mouth. I’m happy I got a very good experience with the raw salmon. 🙂

Sushi Moriawase (7 kinds of assorted sushi) || Php 400
Rating: 4 out of 5

I loved the shrimps here and the maki. I mean, I loved makis. Regardless on what’s inside it, I just love that sticky rice with it. Not sure why. 🙂 And then the shrimps were just heaven to me.

Sashimi Moriawase (5 kinds of sashimi) || Php 425.00
Rating: 4 out of 5

Again, that salmon and shrimps in there together with crab sticks were really awesome.

Crazy Maki (crab sticks on top, rolled in tempura flakes) || Php 270.00
Rating: 5 out of 5
Oriental Fried Rice (egg, pork & vegetables) || Php 155.00
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ebi Tempura (prawn in tempura batter) || Php 385.00
Rating: 5 out of 5

Who would say no to a very good looking-really inviting group of tempura?! The shrimps were so huge that it became so fun to eat. Along with warm tempura sauce, we literally asked for another round of this. 🙂

Buta Teppan (sauuteed pork cubes w/ steak sauce) || Php 265.00
Rating: 5 out of 5

The pork was just cooked perfectly. Really tender and juicy. And oh, that steak sauce glorified those pork cubes. And I also loved the bean sprouts. 🙂

Ika Teppan (sauteed squid & vegetables) || Php 270.00
Rating: 5 out of 5
Buta Shoga Yaki || Php 220.00
Rating: 5 out of 5

I love the buta shoga yaki because of its crispiness generously mixed with teriyaki sauce. 🙂

Beef Sukiyaki || Php 275.00
Rating: 3 out of 5

Am not sure why I didn’t actually like the taste of this soup dish. While my friends really enjoyed this, i just had 2-3 spoon full of sips. That’s it. 😦

Hyashi Soba || Php 215.00
Rating: 3 out of 5

Hyashi Soba is one of Yuujin’s cold noodles. Made up with brown egg noodles, pork, egg omelette slices and veggies. I’m just not into cold noodles. 😦

Now for our friends who is a vegetarian, he ordered dishes just for himself. Haha! Too bad, I wasn’t able to taste them anymore as my tummy cannot take the fullness anymore.

Vegetable Roll || Php 260.00
No Rating
Tofu Salad (tofu & vegetables w/ Japanese dressing) || Php 245.00
No Rating
Fruit Shakes || Php 85.00

Alright, after those long line up of food which really filled up my tummy, now its time for some desserts. 🙂

Tempura Ice Cream || Php 130.00
Rating: 5 out of 5

Tempura ice cream is for the win!! This deep-fried ice cream in tempura batter with strawberry sauce is just awesome. I can’t stop myself saying “ang sarap!” (it’s delicious!”). 🙂

Then, its time for coffee.

Coffee || Php 60.00
Rating: 5 out of 5

This is truly the best Japanese restaurant I have been to so far. Their food is outstanding and of the highest quality and best taste.

What makes this restaurant specially great is the way we were taken care of. The owners are amazing people who didn’t mind having dinner with us, having discussions, get to know each and every one of us.

I can’t recommend this restaurant enough. Go there and you won’t be disappointed!

The amazing and wonderful people behind Yuujin Japanese Restaurant

Say It, Nessie visited Yuujin Japanese Restaurant as a guest. All meals were complimentary and because of the generosity of the Owners.  All ratings on the meals are mine and based on my taste and palates. 

Yuujin Japanese Restaurant

Address: 221 Wilson St, Greenhills, San Juan
Contact Number: (02) 706-0626

35 Comments

  1. I’m always around the Wilson area. But I guess, I haven’t seen Yuujin just yet.. I’m glad that you had a good review of the cuisines especially with the Salmon Sashimi. I am a sucker for sashimi that “melts in your mouth” when eaten.. That is authentic as it gets for me! 🙂

    Like

    1. I have to try and taste this mouth-watering Salmon Sashimi before I can say anything, Mai… my stomach seems to be bubbling with curiosity.

      Like

  2. I was just thinking what I should cook for lunch and now I got an idea, thank you! I love Japanese food, makes me tick! 🙂

    Like

  3. It could have been better if they added low tables where you have to sit on the floor for a more authentic Japanese experience. Nonetheless, from the pics, the food looks awesome!

    Like

  4. nakakagutom, not been to Japan as well but have lived in Korea for several years and their seafood buffet is just fantastic – salmon sashimi & sushi definitely my fave…

    Like

  5. Oh lovely!! i love Japanese food.. it’s just that it’s very expensive here… i like to taste all except the Sushi… i really can’t eat raw salmon… i only go for the boring california maki… but i can finish a lot… i love smoked salmon… but that’s the extent…

    Like

  6. J.A.P.A.N.E.S.E food is ❤
    I haven't tried eating cold noodles and my standard for ramen is Ramen X. Tempura ice cream is one of a kind, crunchy + sweet! :3

    Like

  7. my first comment didn’t go through, anyway, i love japanese foods that’s why i’m always saving to go to those expensive japanese resto. 🙂

    Like

Let me know what you think about this post

