Sentro 1771: 1st in Modern Filipino Cuisine

First thoughts: “Is this really the place I wanna go if I miss my Dad’s finished-products from his kitchen?” 

I have tried dining in Sentro 1771 before but I don’t remember my experience with them anymore. So, when I got invited to be part of their 10th year celebration in providing modern Filipino cuisine, I gladly agreed. I knew that the food will be familiar to me but I was more excited with the twist on how they present their dishes in a unique way.

Sentro 1771 is part of Chateau 1771 Group of Restaurants which opened its doors in the year 2002. Branches are in Serendra and the other one is in Greenbelt 3. 

When we arrived in their Greenbelt 3 branch, I was also excited for their famous Corned Beef Sinigang as if this is my first time. But no, me and my friends have already tried it couple of years back and we enjoyed it. 🙂 I love the setup here because the kitchen is somewhat elevated from the dining tables and chairs. So, we can actually have a glance on what the staff are doing. The natural light coming from the al fresco setup is a compliment to the subtle yellow lighting inside.

After a few chit-chats, we were handed their menu listing. One thing I noticed with it is its not as elegant as the other restaurants that I have tried. This from Sentro 1771 is very simple, plain listing with its prices and kinda old already.

These got me thinking if they just don’t pay much attention with their menu listing or this is actually part of them, being simple. Hmmm.. What do you think?

Anyway, we ordered our food and the head waiter who assisted us was kind enough to answer all our questions about their dishes. Since their menu doesn’t have pictures to support its name, we have to ask. Here’s what we got:

Appetizer: Sizzling Tofu. Diced tofu in a special soy and little mayo dressing served on a sizzling plate. Kinda like sisig but its tofu. My friends actually loved this. But, since I’m not into mayo, I didn’t like it as much as they did. I thought, it was just a plain sizzling tofu for me.

Sizzling Tofu | Php250.00 | Rating: 3 out of 5

Sizzling Tofu | Php250.00 | Rating: 3 out of 5

Appetizer: Fried Kesong Puti. Organic, native white cheese, coated with breadcrumbs and deep-fried until golden brown. Served with sweet chili guava sauce and garlic dip. This one’s a two thumbs up for me and my friends. Insanely addictive! The sweet guava sauce is just heaven. Its my first time to taste a sweet guava sauce and I loved it. 

Fried Kesong Puti

Fried Kesong Puti | Php180.00 Solo – Php320.00 Sharing | Rating: 5 out of 5

Appetizer: Fresh Smoked Fish Spring Roll. A fresh lumpia of tinapang bangus, salted egg, mustasa, onions and tomato. The saltiness of the smoked fish is a perfect combination with the other ingredients. Again, this is two thumbs up for us. The freshness of the other ingredients is just awesome to the palates. And since we all loved this, we ordered another plate. That’s how good this is. Haha!

Fresh Smoked Fish Spring Roll | Php270.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Fresh Smoked Fish Spring Roll | Php270.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Rice and Noodles: Spinach and Glass Noodles. Quickly stir-fried in bright green spinach and vermicelli mung bean noodles. Uhm… I’m not sure why I didn’t like this dish. It was a little bland for me.

Spinach and Glass Noodles | Php220.00 | Rating: 3 out of 5

Spinach and Glass Noodles | Php220.00 | Rating: 3 out of 5

Salads and Vegetables: Beef Pinoy Tapa Salad. Lettuce, dried tapa bits, red onions, tomatoes and tuyo vinaigrette. What I liked with this dish is actually the tuyo vinaigrette. It made the raw lettuce more edible for me. Haha! Yes, I don’t eat raw stuff unless the sauce is good. 🙂 And by the way, the dried tapa is not so edible for me. Too tough, too dry, no taste at all.

Beef Pinoy Tapa Salad | Php180.00 | Rating: 4 out of 5

Beef Pinoy Tapa Salad | Php180.00 | Rating: 4 out of 5

Meat: Lamb Caldereta. Australian boneless lamb shoulder stewed in a not really spicy way with carrots and bell peppers. This one’s good. The tomato-based sauce was good. There was very little chance that one can determine if it’s a lamb or a beef (of course if you didn’t read the menu). 🙂

Lamb Caldereta | Php480.00 Solo - Php880.00 Sharing | Rating: 4 out of 5

Lamb Caldereta | Php480.00 Solo – Php880.00 Sharing | Rating: 4 out of 5

Meat: Pinoy Osso Bucco. Bone-in-beef shanks slow-cooked until tender with lots of caramelized shallots. I honestly fell in love with this dish. It’s just melts in your mouth. The sauce was sooo good. The beef was so tender. This dish is simply perfect with just plain rice. Simple as that. 🙂

Pinoy Osso Bucco | Php380.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Pinoy Osso Bucco | Php380.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

The specialty of the house: Corned Beef Sinigang. Corned beef short ribs and boneless shanks in tamarind broth with native vegetables. For those who are used to their parent’s pork sinigang, having a beef sinigang will somewhat give them the right to doubt. Much more since this is a corned beef. Whoah! Yes, you gotta try it to believe it. This corned beef sinigang is simply the most elegant version of our traditional Filipino sinigang. Those big chunks of corned beef, yes, soo good! Perfect with its sour soup. And they refill the soup if you request for it. Also, Sentro 1771 gives their customers to choose and request for the level of sourness for the soup. It goes a little something like this: “More asim please.” Awesome!

Corned Beef Sinigang | Php310.00 Solo - Php595.00 Sharing | Rating: 5 out of 5

Corned Beef Sinigang | Php310.00 Solo – Php595.00 Sharing | Rating: 5 out of 5

Seafood: Rated GG. Who would know that our beloved galunggong or what I call gigi when I was a kid could be as good as this. I am used to a simple fried galunggong with calamansi and soy sauce. But this time, it’s different. This one’s fried in a garlic oil and topped with browned garlic. The best galunggong I ever had. And I’m telling you, this fish will bring back the simple of patriotism of being a Filipino (if you know what I mean).

Rated GG | Php230.00 Solo - Php445.00 Sharing | Rating: 5 out of 5

Rated GG | Php230.00 Solo – Php445.00 Sharing | Rating: 5 out of 5

Seafood: Tilapia fillet in coconut milk. Flavored with garlic, ginger and coconut milk on a bed of spinach leaves. I have this long time in-love relationship with tilapia. So, I think, however it is being cooked and served, I will still love this no matter what. Haha! The fish just melts in your mouth.

Tilapia Fillet in Coconut Milk | Php220.00 Solo - Php360.00 Sharing | Rating: 5 out of 5

Tilapia Fillet in Coconut Milk|Php220.00 Solo-Php360.00 Sharing|Rating: 5 out of 5

Desserts: Fried Suman and Ripe Mangoes. Rolled out suman fried to a light crisp and topped with ripe mangoes and served with sweet coco jam. I love sweets! And this one brought a twist of being a sweet dish. The light crispiness of the fried suman worked perfectly with the ripe mangoes along with the coco jam. Just perfect.

Fried Suman and Ripe Mangoes | Php180.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Fried Suman and Ripe Mangoes | Php180.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Desserts: Coffee Bean Sans Rival. More exciting and upbeat than the usual sans rival. When this reached our table, it was unbelievably that it’s a sans rival. It’s so beautiful. Doesn’t even look like a sans rival. Super sweet. Super yummy. And I loved it, so much!

Coffee Bean Sans Rival | Php205.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Coffee Bean Sans Rival | Php205.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Desserts: Coffee Pie. One of a kind, I must say. Chocolate-cashew crust with coffee fillings topped with cream cheese and toffee sauce. Oh gosh! This one’s really good! I think, I won’t be able to describe this enough. Truly, to die for!

Coffee Pie | Php220.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Coffee Pie | Php220.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Desserts: Keso Flan. Baked but light, no crust cheesecake served with queso de bola and red egg. Something like a bibingka but it’s not. the twist of the sweetness of the cheesecake and the saltiness of the red egg goes well together in my palates. This one is another perfect example of the a traditional Filipino dish with a ‘perfect’ twist.

Keso Flan | Php220.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Keso Flan | Php220.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Desserts: Maja Blanca Crepe. Thin rice crepes filled with melt-in-your-mouth coconut milk custard with corn. Do I need to say more? Let me know.. 🙂

Maja Blanca Crepe | Php180.00 | Rating: 4 out of 5

Maja Blanca Crepe | Php180.00 | Rating: 4 out of 5

Desserts: Creme Brulee. Light and silky chilled custard with caramelized and brittle sugar surface which actually contracted with the soft and creamy custard beneath. This time, just like the usual way on how a creme brulee should be. 🙂

Creme Brulee | Php180.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Creme Brulee | Php180.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

Desserts: Mango Jubilee. Vanilla ice cream topped with ripe mango cubes swirled in mango jubilee sauce. You gotta finish this quick or you’ll end up with an ice cream sauce.

Mango Jubilee | Php195.00 | Rating: 4 out of 5

Mango Jubilee | Php195.00 | Rating: 4 out of 5

Fresh Juices: Manggang-Mangga and Green Mango Juice.

Manggang-Mangga & Green Mango Juice | Php110.00

Manggang-Mangga & Green Mango Juice | Php110.00

Refreshers: House Iced Tea and Pandan Lemon Cooler.

House Iced Tea and Pandan Lemon Cooler | Php110.00

Pandan Lemon Cooler and House Iced Tea | Php110.00

Beverage: Sago’t Gulaman.

Sago't Gulaman | Php110.00

Sago’t Gulaman | Php110.00

Final thoughts: I enjoyed my visit with Sentro 1771. It truly fearlessly forging and twisting Filipino traditional dishes to give its most justification and elegance.  With this, food trips is so much fun in the Philippines. And with my question on my first thoughts, yes, definitely! 🙂

Sentro 1771 Greenbelt 3

Location: 2/F, Greenbelt 3, Ayala Center, Makati City
Contact Details: (02) 757-3941 | (02) 757-3938 | Mobile +63 917 8660449
Email: sentro1771@gmail.com

Website | Facebook Page | Twitter

Business Hrs: Mall Hours
Payment Options: Cash, Major Credit Cards
Parking: Yes
Free Wi-Fi: No
Service Charge: Yes

9 thoughts on “Sentro 1771: 1st in Modern Filipino Cuisine

  1. evrything looks so yummy! corned beef sinigang sounds great to me!! love to see fresh spring rolls also and some GG! I totally missin’them already! xx

    Like

  2. There are many new restaurants that look good in Greenbelt. I want to try each of them (haha only if I have that much money to spend and time to kill). Also, it looks like Sentro offers a lot of vegetarian-friendly delights! Hmmm must visit next time. 😀

    Like

  3. Filipino cuisine will always be the best. Oh, that sizzling tofu is kinda expensive eh. 🙂

    Like

  4. I like the galunggong and how it is cooked, yummy. Wanna pair it with plain rice and coke!

    Like

  5. that lamb caldereta is interesting… and the desserts all looked yummy. drooling!

    Like

  6. WOW! that’s all I can say! some of the dish are new to my eyes but that corned beef sinigang, I definitely want to try it since I loooooove pork sinigang! And the desserts, ugh! to die for! they look soooo yummy especially that maja blanca crepe! I’m hungry.. 😀

    Like

  7. Everything looks great ate Ness! I haven’t been to Sentro 1771 yet so it’s a shame I wasn’t able to join you guys. Maybe next time I’ll try Sentro 1771 when I’m in need to satisfy some modern Filipino food cravings ^^

    Like

  8. tempting, i would love to try them all but i’m on a diet right now. The friend kesong puti looks delicious.

    Like

  9. Their menu seems so promising to me as I may take my family to have lunch there pretty soon. I hope they would have vouchers for this as well. ^_^

    Like

Let me know what you think about this post

