Carnivores Alert: The Flying Pig in Eastwood Mall, QC

Yes! Carnivores alert! If you have been around Eastwood in Quezon City, then you must be familiar with The Flying Pig. I was able to visit and try this place twice and I am still wanting for more. The first time I was able to visit was with my Grumpy last January. Second time was on a valentine’s day this with my colleagues. 🙂

The Flying Pig as per my research, is one of the latest additions from the Red Crab restaurants. I am also a fan of Red Crab and I’ve also wrote about my great experience with it. As per Awesome Planet: here’s the line of their concept restaurants: Red Crab and Seafood Club, Crustasia, Paloma, Heaven n’ Eggs, Cocorama, Clawdaddy Crabhouse and American Grill, Hula Hula Seafood and Barbecue House, Blackbeard’s Seafood Island, The Red Crab, Sumo-Sam and Texas Smoke ‘Em.

Too bad I wasn’t able to take photos of the place, really. I think, I enjoyed myself too much looking around with its super cute ambiance. 🙂 Sorry, that’s all that I can share, so far with regard to the place. 😦

But I am very sure that I will be able to share enough experience of my taste buds with The Flying Pig. Ready?

Here we go!

The Flying Meatloaf – This really surprised me and my Grumpy. When we ordered this, we were just thinking of the normal meatloaf. Haha! We never thought that this will be this huge! It’s a country-style baked meatloaf with rich gravy, mashed potatoes and glazed veggies. Just look at the photo below if you can’t picture the description in your mind. 🙂 Tell you, this is soooo good!

The Flying Meatloaf | Php295.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5
The Flying Meatloaf | Php295.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

One thing, I also noticed was the mashed potatoes. Uhmm.. it kinda didn’t really look that good. I mean, not so clean-looking and all, but the taste is just awesome. Not sure, but they mixed some spices with it which made it really good. I honestly forgot that my order didn’t come with a rice. It worked perfectly with the meatloaf. And the gravy, oh yes! So good too.

Bangin’ Bagnet – This is the traditional Ilocos-style crispy pork belly, served with adobo rice , liver sauce and spicy pinakurat. I was able to taste this dish when I was with my colleagues on a valentine’s day. The bagnet was so good and the adobo rice worked with it well. However, I think the serving is actually too small for the big serving of rice. Though the liver sauce and pinakurat is good. 🙂

Bangin' Bagnet | Php265.00 | Rating: 4 out of 5
Bangin’ Bagnet | Php265.00 | Rating: 4 out of 5

King Sampler – Full slab of baby back ribs, half-smoked chicken, four pieces sausages, with choice of two fixins. Need I say more?? 🙂 With this, we chose to have fries and rice.

The baby back ribs’ soo good. The sausages were huge. And the chicken? Oh gosh! I really don’t know how to describe it anymore. Haha!

King Sampler | Php1,250.00 | Rating: 5 out of 5

And for the drinks…

Orange Spritzer
Orange Spitzer
Ginger Spritzer
Ginger Spitzer

With their service and staff, I hope they would improve on this matter. My first experience, I nearly bursted out because when I asked for my bill, it was given to us 30 minutes after. My husband had to follow-up for it several times. Of course, we got an apology and was explained that their POS crashed and they had to do it manually.

My second visit was horrible. Since it was valentines day, the place was jam-packed. Even the Manager On Duty was already helping around getting orders and serving food to the customers. When we signaled that we’re ready for our orders, no one was actually going to us. We we’re kinda in a hurry that time since me and my colleagues only have 1 hour break. Finally, after several attempts, a staff got our orders listed. While waiting for our food, another staff was preparing the plates and all on our table looking very tired and pissed off that she started throwing the plates in front of us. I was really pissed off that I called the Manager and told her what’s happening. We learned from her that the staff is one of their trainees and she apologized. I felt bad for the trainee because she was asked to stop and just leave, I think (as we didn’t see her anymore after).

Anyway, we love all the food that we were able to try. Specially me who really “cannot” eat raw veggies. (if you are a follower of my blog, you’ll know why). Haha! Two visits in a year means something – and I love my experience. I’m happy too that my Grumpy and colleagues loved it too. I’m looking forward to my third and fourth visit. Maybe after their ongoing renovation. 🙂

I just hope they would improve on their service.

My Own Ratings:

Taste: 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 out of 5
Ambiance: 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 out of 5
Service: 🙂 🙂 out of 5
Price: 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 out of 5

The Flying Pig

Location: Ground Floor, Eastwood Mall, Eastwood City
Contact: +632 900-0886

Operating Hours: Mon-Sun 10am-9pm
Payment Options: Cash, Visa, Mastercard

Kiddie Meals: Yes
Wi-Fi: No
Parking: Yes – Mall

9 Comments

  1. I’ve eaten at The Flying Pig twice too. We were actually planning to dine here again the last time we were at Eastwood, but it was closed for renovation. We can’t wait for it to open its doors again though 🙂

    Like

Let me know what you think about this post

