Day 1: Palarong Pambansa 2013 Opening Ceremony

My trip to Dumaguete was smooth. While reading my favorite book up in the clouds, I just realized that the Pilot was already announcing that we are already landing in a few minutes. As I mentioned in my previous posts, Cebu has been my second home for almost 3yrs. When I heard the name Cebu-Mactan International Airport, I got more excited. Don’t get me wrong, I am excited because this will be the first time that I got invited to be part of the most awaited and most prestige sports event in the Philippines and that is the Palarong Pambansa 2013.

20130422-232441.jpg

When we finally set our foot in Dumaguete, we were already feeling the vibes of the event. Differrent signages, promotions and announcements are all around. Vehicles every corner of the busy streets full of tourists. Group of young athletes walking and having fun with each. Stalls were also used for several business people who are selling the Palarong Pambansa 2013 memorabilia. So much fun for my first hour in Dumaguete.

Too bad we weren’t able to join the opening ceremonies but the colorful streets is I think enough for us to be able to feel the vibe.

Entrance of the Colors was one of the highlights of the parade. Philippine Flag, Provincial Banner, City Banner NegOr Olympians, Flaglets of boy and girl scouts. I felt sad when I hear from those who were able to witness this. 🙂 Then the very solemn rising of the Philippine flag, along with the hair-raising great voices of Negros Oriental Symphony Orchestra and Choir.

Dumaguete City Mayor Hon. Manuel T. Sagarbarria said his welcome remarks to the crowd. Then, Dumaguete City Governor Hon. Roel R. Degamo was heard and applauded by the crown.

Br. Armin A. Luistro FSC, ASec Tonisito Umali, Esq., hoisted the Palarong Pambansa Banner. 

The opening ceremonies was ended with a fireworks which signaled the official start of the competition. 🙂

Let me know what you think about this post

